HSM quality

ShortMag3

I have a friend who shoots factory ammo out of his 300 Rum. He's shooting the 185gr Vld HSM ammo. He lives a few states away so all conversation. He said he shoots about 1" groups at 100yds. I told him by adjusting the seating depths we could probably tighten up the groups.
I purchased a box, opened up the 1st pack and measured the base to ogive for a reference dimension.
I had .008 variation in 5 pcs.Definitely not great but ok I guess.
So I proceeded to tap the bullets out a little with the kinetic hammer and was suprised at the minimal neck tension. One tap and out had .1 + movement and a crimped jacket on 15 out of 20.
Is this standard for their quality.

Attachments

• 20171020_175414.jpg
    20171020_175414.jpg
    483.4 KB · Views: 115
Ouch. This is a case for why I handload. I like the bullets HSM uses, Berger, but that seems a bit loose in the neck tension. I'll let the experts chime in here as I'm a gun painter not necessarily a loading expert. Imagine what your follow up shot would be? I use Redding dies and a neck bushing to undersize my necks for a .003 pressfit and that gets me under 1/2 MOA if I do my part. I don't use factory ammo for this reason. If I reload it, I know what I've done. That makes me nervous with how little neck tension is on that particular box. I don't want to throw HSM under the bus and hopefully it was a fluke as they are a good company.

I wasnt too impressed with their Berger 210vld load in my 300wm. Inconsistent grouping. And the last box I bought from them, every round I **** near had to beat the bolt open. I went home that same day and ordered everything to start reloading.