How long of a barrel?

Cnkhunting

I am new to the AR 15 guns, I just ordered a complete lower and am looking for a complete upper in 223 wylde. I'm building it for calling coyotes. What length barrel should I do? 18" or 20"

What's the cost of a complete upper
A couple of my rifles came with 20"(ie HBar Colt, Bushmaster) barrels and were more then sufficient to hunt coyotes at the longer distances. It's been several years, but my most accurate LR AR is a DPMS complete upper with a 22" heavy varmint barrel, 1:9TW that cost approx. $600, bought from Midway USA. It's very accurate. So much so that I have used it with good success in 200-300 yard Egg Shoot competition….25MOA.

Last edited:
I am new to the AR 15 guns, I just ordered a complete lower and am looking for a complete upper in 223 wylde. I'm building it for calling coyotes. What length barrel should I do? 18" or 20"
16" inches should do everything you want, with that said, if you want more velocity especially if you're talking about a 5.56x45mm pressure and hand loads you might think about a full 22" inches or even 24" inches. 16" inches and 20" inches in most rifles are going to run near the same velocity through most bullet weights out of the box store brands. If you're going to run a can go with the 16' inch. Just my 0.2 Cheers