Hammer bullets in 7mm

njc89

For those of you that have been using Hammers for a while -
Im new to mono bullets, and Hammers in particular. I'm looking at ballistics and thinking about shots out to about 500-600 yards on elk. I'm able to maintain the recommended 1800 FPS but the lighter bullets I would need to work in my rifle (131 or 143 due to slow twist) have me well under 1500 ft-lbs - say 1100-1300 ft-lbs give or take. In your experience, would the bullet still function well in this range? I'm guessing the shank will still have good penetration, but I would like the separated petals to do some good damage too. Any real world experience would be appreciated.

I'm shooting the 143HH bullet at 3,200 ft/sec from my 7WSM with a 25" Bartlein bbl. Looking at JBL ballistics; it looks like the bullet will still be above 1,800 ft/sec at 800yds. Energy at 600yds is 1,435 ft/lbs.

That should give you a fair margin of comfort.

Varmint, what twist barrel do you have. Mines 9.5. Berger's stability calculator says I should be right at 1.5 from my 7mm wsm at hunting altitude. Still, Hammer recommends 9.25 or faster. Think I'll try the 143 anyway, as 131 seems light for elk.

Varmint, what twist barrel do you have. Mines 9.5. Berger's stability calculator says I should be right at 1.5 from my 7mm wsm at hunting altitude. Still, Hammer recommends 9.25 or faster. Think I'll try the 143 anyway, as 131 seems light for elk.

My Bartlein is an 8.5" twist. RE23 got me to 3,200 ft/sec with no signs of excess pressure. May have been able to go higher but didn't see the need to try.