FL vs NS question.

Firearrow

I have read the previous threads about FL vs NS, and I have a question. I want to see if I got this right. If you have a factory action, with a factory barrel then you should lean toward NS because of the looser tolerences. But if you have a custom/blueprinted action, and a custom barrel then go with the FL becasue of the tighter tolerneces. This is just to make sure the case/bullet will chamber, and for better accuracy.

I just want to add this as well. I know that every rifle, case, bullet, powder reacts different, my question is more or less speaking in general terms. I am not looking for a short cut, or asking someone to look into a crystal ball. I just wanted to make sure I have the "Theory" right.

I am no expert but I would say that it is the other way around.

With a factory chamber that will not be as well reamed as a custom one, you need to FL size or at least PFLR and size the case body in order to keep an out-of-round factory chamber from influencing the orientation of the neck and bullet to the bore. With a custom chamber that is much much more likely to be closer to perfect than a factory one, the fire formed case body will be very close to perfectly round and if you don't size the case body it will be less likely to bind in the custom chamber due to orientation.

I have seem benchrest shooters who load at the range and they wil not size the case at all. The neck is tight and they don't use stiff loads. They just prime, charge and seat another bullet.

"I know that every rifle, case, bullet, powder reacts different, my question is more or less speaking in general terms."

Such theories are (more or less) of no help; only facts are helpful and none of us can provide you any valid facts. You already recognise there are no valid rules so trying to give an indefinate application to factory or customs is meaningless, they are each individuals and must be treated as such.