Firefox slow to load pages

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Len Backus, Jan 10, 2008.

  1. Len Backus

    Len Backus Administrator Staff Member

    Messages:
    6,359
    Joined:
    May 2, 2001
    I have been chasing my tail for weeks trying to problem solve this issue. Today I discovered it was due to Firefox 2.00.11.

    As an example, it took 3 minutes to fully load all the GooglemapME location pins. With IE it takes 15 seconds. My slowness problem started sometime in the last month or two and I was unable to put my finger on just what had happened. It may have come at the last time I upgraded Firefox, I just don't know.

    Another wierd thing was that the Googlemap appeared with a window pane look to it in FF. This was true also with the maps of Mapquest.com and with the Google search engine maps. Not so with IE.

    Has anyone else seen the same issues with FF? About 10% of us are usiing FF and not IE.

    UPDATE: I just downloaded the FF3 beta version and it works well, slightly faster than IE7. So the problem was in my upgrade to FF 2.00.11 a month or two ago. I am glad to back with FF.
     
    Last edited: Jan 10, 2008
  2. Brain

    Brain Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    147
    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2007
    I use Firefox and have noticed the same sluggish page loading. I thought it was my machine or connection.
     

  3. dennis

    dennis Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    114
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2007
    it wouldnt let me on for a while it said i had to download firefox
     
  4. royinidaho

    royinidaho Writers Guild

    Messages:
    8,853
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    I assume yur running Firefox on a PC:(

    Get an Intel MacMini. It runs just fine.:p:p:p :D
     
  5. ss7mm

    ss7mm Writers Guild

    Messages:
    3,707
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2005
    Len:

    For me it's the other way around. I have been using Firefox "forever". For me, Firefox is far faster than IE doing anything on long range hunting. I was using 2.0.0.11 but I just went back to 2.0.0.8 to see if there is any difference and, for me, there was no difference, so I'll go back to 2.0.0.11. I have too many extensions/addons, and with the beta versions a lot of them won't work.

    A lot of times a problem can come up in your profile when using Firefox. You might try a new profile and see if that makes any difference.
     
  6. James H

    James H Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    504
    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Len
    I have the opposite problem. IE loads very slow so I use Firefox to view these forums. I have never cared for Mozilla in fact the only time I use it is to view this forum I also don't care for IE 7, too much like Mozilla. If I surf the web using Linux I use Konqueror for a browser.
    James
     
  7. AJ Peacock

    AJ Peacock Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,229
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2005
    I'm using FF 2.0.0.11 and everything is fast, although I use some add-ons to eliminate some of the unnecessary traffic. I even turned all my add-ons off and it's still fast.

    AJ
     
  8. mikebob

    mikebob Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    400
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2006
    It work great for me with firefox but it works even faster with opera. It loaded map and pins for me in 6 seconds with opera and 9 with firefox.
     
  9. lerch

    lerch <strong>SPONSOR</strong>

    Messages:
    1,497
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2004
    Just got a new lap top and IE was kinda slow on it so i downloaded firefox and it is blazin fast for me on this a several other pages
     
  10. silvertip-co

    silvertip-co Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,131
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Slow? ...ya otto try dial up.