Few questions about first build.

skookum

I have been doing a lot of reading on here as far as quality for price, and all the bells and whistles to make your gun shoot that much better. Sub Moa is fine, 1/2 MOA is even better. I plan on using this rifle as a hunting and the occasional kill the milk jug accrossed the canyon gun. I have some experience shooting out to 500yds with a standard duplex 3-9 leupold. I use a 30-06 Savage 110(before the accu-trigger) and a 257 weatherby MK IV. Being from SW Wa there's not really a need for and 1000 yard rifle but i want one.

I have quite a bit of experience with '06 but would like a little more horsepower, I would like to build up the .257 someday but its about $3-$5 everytime i pull the trigger, i dont have a lot of experience with it since i bought it not long before i joined the army. It will be a shooter once i put some glass on it, but i'm not comfortable hunting elk with it.

I see the 3 main over the counter rifles seem to be Remington, Tikka, and Savage. Is it Ford vs. Chevy or is one truly better than the other? I am thinking 300 WM or something close to it- WSM, SAUM or Maybe 7mm.

I am still not sure about Glass either. I wold like to keep it under $1000, I see alot of mixed reviews on anything other than NF. Has anyone built a Leupold in the custom shop? I found out i can do this pretty reasonably and i have always had great success with their off the shelf optics.

the rest of the line-up includes a HS Precision Stock, Timney trigger and a Pac Nor Barrel.

I am not worried about reloading, rangefinders, or spotting scopes I have access to my grandfather's and dad's equipment. This is kinda lengthy but i appreciate the input.