Custom Confusion

corey suir

After my recent post about building on a savage action and being advised of some of its short comings i have been doing some research. i have been looking at having a rifle built. i have looked at Mcwhorter, Hill country rifles, borden, Gap and a few others. The only thing that i have gotten out of all my research is a headache. They all cost about the same, use all the same actions and barrels and stocks. what makes one better than the other. how do you pick? i have no experience with any of these companies. i want a rifle that I can use for hunting from a boxstand to hopefully chasing elk in the mountains one day. the only thing that i have figured out is that i want it to be chambered in 300 win. although the 300 prc has caught my eye.

Don't know about them all using the same actions. I'd think they would mostly use different actions. Ask around and get references. I haven't had a lot of customs built but will say my experience with RBros and Borden was very good. So those two would be my recommendation. Guns were finished on time and RBros was actually finished two months early.

the ones that do say which actions they use its always borden, stiller, or another custom remington 700 action. my main point being that they all use extremely high end parts and are all about the same weight.

Find a good no name gunsmith...no need for a fancy website and popular name to build a good rifle unless you like overpaying and waiting forever.
I have always used a local guy. He is not only a gunsmith, he also competed in long range shooting all his life. Built really accurate rifles, competitively priced with factory Coopers. Bet there is a guy just like this in your area. Not only are you supporting a local business, you can sit down with the guy and get exactly what you want, and he can help you redecide if you have some bad ideas. Can save you a lot of time,frustration and money.