calibrated hold over reticles

Discussion in 'Long Range Scopes and Other Optics' started by gearfoot, Apr 16, 2011.

  1. gearfoot

    gearfoot Member

    Messages:
    23
    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    I am looking for a scope for a 264 win mag. I'd like to take a 300 yard zero then have hash marks at 4,5,6,7 and 800 yards. Do any of the scope manufacturers build reticles like this? What about a reticle based on actual measured drops?

    Thanks.
     
  2. KRP

    KRP Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    591
    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Leupold does custom ballistic reticles and TK Lee does dots on certain other scopes.
     

  3. JeffVN

    JeffVN Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    620
    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2004
    US Optics will let you design and build what you want, but its not cheap. I have a custom reticle in process with them now. "development" cost is $1,000, but they are cutting me a deal to have my custom reticle swapped into my other 5-25X TPAL scopes.

    Jeffvn
     
  4. brentc

    brentc Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,610
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    The Zeiss Rapid Z 800 is as close as you'll get on a factory scope. They have an online calculator to match your ballistics to your reticle by adjusting the magnification of the scope. I have a Conquest 4.5-14 on a 300 WSM that I use with different load combinations, and the Zeiss exbal calculator is spot on for each load.
     
  5. Outlaw6.0

    Outlaw6.0 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    3,007
    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    You can get custom reticles from the Leupold custom shop, specifically calibrated for your setup. But if you are anything like the rest of us, you will end up changing something on your rig, be it bullet, brass, primer, powder, rings etc. which will more than likely compromise the BCD values inside your scope, IMHO stick with the turrets, whether you go with mils or moa, at least you can swap out a turret fairly easy, it's not as easy to change reticles.
     
  6. Dr. Vette

    Dr. Vette Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,033
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    My Dad has had great results with Nikon's BDC reticle. You can use their "Spot On" program to put in your load and info, and based on our results it works very well.

    Nikon Spot On&#153 Ballistic Match Technology Program

    Using this, if you change loads all you have to do is put new numbers in the program and it tells you the range for your reticle. Give it a try online.
     
  7. newmexkid

    newmexkid Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    598
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Leupold will also do custom dials, (on Leupold scopes only). I think that's the way I'm going to go. If you ever decided to go with a different load or sell the scope you can put the original dial back on or order another dial for under $60. However, it's been about 4 months since I talked to Leupold and I don't remember whether or not you have to send the scope back for the new dial (s).
     
  8. BillR

    BillR Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    409
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2002
  9. 338 bruce

    338 bruce Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    230
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    you can use any type of reticle for hold over, I have a springfield gen 3 scope for the 308 win and shoot all the ranges to verify the impact points with my 375 tejas. crosshairs at 200 yds out to the 10 line at 1450 yds. I can then dial if i want to shoot out further I have used my leupold vx-3 3.5-10 with duplex reticle on max power. the upper heavy to fine junction set at 250 yds, crosshair at 350 yds and the lower junction at 450 yds on a 308 win.
     
  10. bkondeff

    bkondeff Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    345
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    I have two Zeiss Conquests, one with Turrets and one with Z-600 reticle. I am very happy with the Z-600, but as with all things there is give and take. The spacing's are set, so you can't modify them for load or condition changes. The good news is that I have a spreadsheet where I compare the drops on my various loads to that of my z-600 and I have yet to be +/- over 2" out to 600 yards. For hunting, this is fine. I'm not off 2.0 moa, just 2". I was unaware you could get custom reticles from Leupold, but doubt I would spend the cash for drop lines, but might to add MOA windage lines for when I use my turret for drop adjustments. The best thing about the Zeiss Z-series reticle is the 5/10mps windage marks go with each seperate drop line so you are not guessing. For whay I've seen there is no way to adjust windage on the Nikon, Burris, or Leupold(except on their Varmit version).
     
  11. brentc

    brentc Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,610
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    On the Rapid Z's, since they are SFP, the reticle can be adjusted to your load by either raising or lowering your magnification. Zeiss has an exbal calculator available that you input your data into and it will tell you the power setting that will best match the reticle to the ballistics of your load. Of course the more you know about your load and the atmospheric conditions, the more accurate the calculator will be for you.


    Here is the link for the calculator: Zeiss Web Login Form
     
  12. Boss Hoss

    Boss Hoss Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,843
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2005
    Do not want to offend anyone but a 12 year old can use the MOA system with a little practice.

    That way if anything changes such as elevation, bullet wt, velocity etc you just change the formula to determine what MOA at what range. Love it for wind drift!!!

    Now that I have used this system for many years would hate to have to not use it….
     
  13. Jon A

    Jon A Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,092
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2001
    If that's what you really want, give Premier a call. They'll do a reticle like that in their new 3-15 Hunter and it'll be FFP so it will work on any power.

    http://www.longrangehunting.com/forums/f18/new-premier-3-15x50mm-hunter-65724/