buy new rifle for long ranges [800m-1000m]

khodeir

Hi all,

It is my first post here so I hope to find some support :)

I am very interested about rifles and I still learn about them so don't expect I am an expert :).

Now I want to buy a rifle so I made search over internet about accurate rifles but I found a lot so I got stuck :(

I collected this list of rifles since it has a high reputation among hunters

here is the list I collected (feel free to update this list if i forgot to mention a name):

1. winchester model 70
  2. savage 10 FP-SR
  3. weatherby vanguard series 2
  4. Remington 700
I excluded both :

1. Mosin-Nagant(it is not easy to find nowadays + high recoil power + effective range =500m)
  2. ruger (I didnt find much info)

more info about the capabilities i would like in my new rifle :

• targets range : 800m to 1000m
  • high accuracy at long distances
  • my budget for the rifle and scope around : $1500
  • acceptable recoil power :)
I wish if someone could help me to choose the rifle and a good scope for it.

if you provide me with differences about those rifles and points of weakness and strength this would be much appreciated since i would be able to increase my knowledge.

thanks a lot and looking forward for your reply.

Many rifles and calibers are able to to reach out to 800m to 1000m. The problem is the person behind the rifle is not. If you are new to guns and you're not going to hunt, buy something you can afford in a low recoiling round. The next step is the hardest, but also the most fun....PRACTICE! Start with 100-200m, and after you can shoot well at those distances repeatedly (i.e. don't think because you did it once that you can repeat it, it's not that easy) To reach those distances, and hit the target repeatedly, you will need to burn through a whole lot of ammo practicing.