Bullet design for 30-30

RockyMtnMT

Official LRH Sponsor
I'm going to be drawing my sheep tag this week :cool: and it has me thinking about what I am going to hunt it with. Rhian (Bigngreen) is finished with my 338 Lap Imp and will be bringing it to me end of this week. Can't wait. :D But I have been complaining about the weight of that rifle for a few years now and it just got heavier. I'm too old for that crap. And since sheep hunting is not generally a real long range affair, I am thinking fondly of my Marlin 30-30 that has been more or less ignored since I shot my 1st deer with it at 12 years old. It is really light and darn nice to carry. :D I am thinking that with a great bullet the old 30-30 would be a great 300y rifle with open sights. Long range in my opinion.

So having thoughts about a bullet to max the case capacity and keep the base at the neck shoulder junction. That would give us roughly .45" of baring surface and leave us with roughly .48" of nose to keep COAL in the 2.515" range. This will be a mono pure copper bullet.

Question about nose design for tube magazine. How much point can be on the bullet and be safe in magazine? With hollow point not touching in the center, does that get rid of primer ignition possibility? Do we need to clear the primer all together? Lead nose semi round hit right in the primer. I know the lead is softer than the copper, I just need to know how much we have to spread out the nose primer contact to not get an accidental ignition. I have some hollow point ideas that should make this bullet devastating.

Any input on designing this bullet are welcome.

Steve

Wow, I would love to see a good 30-30.

IMHO, just larger than the bevel on the primer for the hollow point.

Wow, I would love to see a good 30-30.

IMHO, just larger than the bevel on the primer for the hollow point.