Bull Down...But Lessons Learned

pburton

I had been putting in for bull elk in NV for the last 15 years and finally drew my tag. The area that I drew was not my first choice but still a good zone. This year I had a new 300 win mag being built for me. When I was notified that I had drawn this tag I started to panic a little because my rifle was not done. I have posted this in another thread so I won't go into to much detail. I received my rifle about three weeks prior to my hunt opening. That gave me a total of 6 days of shooting to get a load worked up, break in the barrel, and get it dialed in. Obviously a little more rushed than I would have preferred. But thanks to Rock Creek barrels for being so easy to break in I got it done. The rifle shot great and a decent load was pretty easy to come by. I practiced out to 600 yards and felt very comfortable at that range shooting 4" groups consistently.

We saw bulls from the first light the first day. But getting in on them in pretty much open country proved very difficult. It amazed me how an animal that big could disappear that easily. I have hunted elk before but not in this type of terrain. High desert mountains with sage brush and small patches of quakies.