breaking in vanguard concernd

Discussion in 'Rifles, Bullets, Barrels & Ballistics' started by earlcurtis67, May 3, 2013.

  1. earlcurtis67

    earlcurtis67 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    235
    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012
    took my new vanguard s2 in 25-06 to the range the other day to do a barrel break-in. I've all ways been a "just start shooting them" kinda guy, but figured id try breaking one in, especially since weatherby recommends this, what could I loose. set my target up at 50 yds. and started the process, shot the prescribed 10 rnds, cleaning after each shot ( using hopps to clean powder and sweetes for fouling). then I fired 2,3 shot groups before time ran out. my question for yall is after the second three shot group the accuracy was not very impressive, enough so that I'm concerned, granted, I only used one type of ammo 120 gn core locs and the barrel break in was not technically completed, should I be concerned on just patient ?? I was shooting on a bag and rest, and checked my scope when I got home, ill go back in a couple of days and finish the break in and also bring some different ammo. any suggestions and help would be appreciated. ps the last group was about 2.5" @50 yds.)
     
  2. Drift141

    Drift141 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    70
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2012
    Tagging in, I would like to hear more about this myself.
     

  3. Outlaw6.0

    Outlaw6.0 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    3,007
    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    What kind of fouling did you pull out of the barrel after the last group? I am most definitely a "just start shooting them" guy, I have yet to find any benefit going the "shoot one- clean one route". Now, most factory barrels are going to foul worse than customs.... just means you have to clean a little more.


    I'd check all my screws first (stock, base & rings), check the free-float of the barrel & try a different type of ammo.


    hope that helps. gun)


    t
     
  4. dromsky

    dromsky Member

    Messages:
    14
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2012
    I recently performed a very similiar break in , sight in, first firing of a new Savage LRH in 300 win. 1st 3 shot group was 1 moa at 100 yds. opened up to 2 moa after 25 rounds and 7 cleaning sessions.
    I will be interested to see your results after the next shooting session.
    I think the trick will be to figure out what level of fouling will equal tightest groups!
     
  5. MontanaRifleman

    MontanaRifleman Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    6,068
    Joined:
    May 21, 2008

    Breaking in a barrel usually has little or no effect on accuracy. It's to condition the bore to foul less.

    I Just picked up a Vanguard in 223 and started to do a one shot and clean break-in but it didn't copper foul. Just a little powder fouling. Cleaned after the first shot and no copper. Cleaned after the second shot and no copper. Then fired two and cleaned and still no copper. Then fired 2 three shot groups cleaning after each and no copper. Then a four shot group and still no copper. Next day I fired 15 shots for load development and cleaned after and only a very slight hint of copper, and it shot sub MOA with a couple of 1/2 MOA groups. This is the first time I have had a rifle that didn't copper foul. It didn't need a break-in.

    One thing I did before I did any shooting was to free float the barrel. It came with the barrel touching the stock and it took a little while to get it sanded to the point that it was free floating.

    Is it possible you damaged the crown during cleaning? I am also interested in what kind of fouling you saw. Did you see any Copper?

    Like outlaw said, check all your screws, base and rings, and free float it. Have you used this scope before? It might be the scope and if you have another known reliable one you might swap them out to see if there's a difference. First free float it and see what happens. But before you that, call Weatherby and ask them what they think about free floating it. Any alterations might void the warrantee.

    One last thing, switch to Bore Tech for cleaning. It will do a lot better job than Hopps and Sweets.
     
  6. scoutm

    scoutm Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    83
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    I'm not saying it related but it has made me a break in believer out of me

    I have two Rem 700 - 25-06 and 300WSM that I did a complete barrel break in routine that shoot lights out - both are consistent .75MOA (after a load was tailored) and they clean up quick as can be. After about 5 foulers i get peak accuracy for the next 25-30 rounds after which accuracy suffers some but not too much

    I have another Rem 700 in 270WSM that I didn't do a break-in on and I hate that gun. I can't find a load it likes and I've tried half dozen bullets, three different powders and it just won't shoot and it's a bear to clean. I'd sell it but I can't bring myself to pass junk on to someone else. Someday it's going to become a donor.

    Again, can't say its related to the break in but the experience with these rifles makes me think breaking them in is a small price to pay for accuracy and cleaning ease - if it is related.
     
  7. Canadian Bushman

    Canadian Bushman Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,650
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012
    Earl curtis,
    Me and a friend experienced the very same thing with remington core locks when breaking in the barrel of a 243 howa. Cleaned after every shot for ten. Then after every three for another 9. While cleaning, the rifle was printing just under 1moa. After we finished the first box and opened the second to shoot a few groups to verify the zero set during break in, and it jumped to 1.5 - 2moa. First we thought it was something with the box of ammo, but after we shot a bit more it settled back to just under 1moa.
     
  8. earlcurtis67

    earlcurtis67 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    235
    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012
    first off thanks for all the reply's! As for as the fouling, didn't get a lot during break in, actually very little. I got more color on the patches when I did the initial cleaning after I pulled it out of the box, maybe the poor printing is from not enough fouling?? I have a box of Winchester silver tips 115gn ill try after I put the rest of those core locs through it. and for Montana rifle man, my S2 is not floated, and its something ill be looking into. the scope is Nikon 12x, my 270 has a very reliable scope on it, but its staying where it is. ill try to get out to the range next week and will keep ya'll posted. also the crown looks good, I bought a bore guide to help with that, along with a quality rod and nylon brushes. lastly, reloading is not an option right now so any suggestions on ammo would also be greatly appreciated. Much thanks E
     
  9. Canadian Bushman

    Canadian Bushman Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,650
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012
    I would clean it well before i switched ammo, but i do alot of shit that doesnt make sense.
     
  10. earlcurtis67

    earlcurtis67 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    235
    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012
    up date, checked scope rings and bases and all is well, however the stock screws were only tightened to about 20 in lbs. weatherby says tighten to 55inlbs. will get to the range as soon as possible. E
     
  11. Dr. Vette

    Dr. Vette Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,033
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Re: breaking in vanguard concerned

    DO NOT TIGHTEN TO 55 IN-LBS !

    Assuming you have a "regular" synthetic Vanguard S2 you are reading the FAQ on the Weatherby site incorrectly. Weatherby does not list or mention a proper torque for a Vanguard synthetic stock, only for wood stocks, Fibermark stocks or Accumark stocks.

    Synthetic stocks are generally tightened "just tight enough" which is, as you found, about 20 in-lbs. If you tighten to 55 you will probably see the area around the screw holes deform and pull in.

    From the Weatherby site:

    "Does my stock require special torque procedures when tightening the screws attaching the stock to the action on my Weatherby® rifle?

    Screws for wood stocks have a torque specification of 35 inch pounds. Please note, however, that you should tighten the rear screw first and then the front screw.
    If yours is a Fibermark® or an Accumark® stock, the torque specification is 55 inch pounds.
    The correct assembly procedure is:

    1. Tighten the rear trigger guard screw first to 30 inch pounds.
    2. Align the barrel to the center of the barrel channel in the fore stock.
    3. Tighten the front trigger guard screw to 30 inch pounds.
    4. Tighten the rear screw to 50-55 inch pounds.
    5. Finally, tighten the front trigger guard screw to 50-55 inch pounds.
    Applying this method, using a torque screwdriver of the proper size, will insure the proper fit between the receiver, and custom aluminum bedding block, as well as the proper positioning of the barrel in the barrel channel."
     
  12. earlcurtis67

    earlcurtis67 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    235
    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012
    you are correct! I should have verified this with my Manuel, says to torque wood and synthetic stocks to 35 inlbs. thanks for pointing this out E