Beginner Reloader - Kit and/or parts?

Brydawg512

Hello all,

I've been putting it off for several years, but I'm wanting to get into loading for my rifle.

I purchased an RCBS Rock Chucker a couple of years ago, but that is the extent of my supplies.

Is there any recommended kits that exclude a press? What other parts will I need to purchase?

I am solely loading for my 300 WM. I had a load created by a smith using 215 Berger Hybrids and am wanting to continue loading my own as well as work toward lowering my ES and SD numbers.

Thank you!

I'm not aware of any basic kits off the top of my head that don't include a press. However there are some kits that have multiple pieces in them for advanced reloading such as some that Hornady offer for case trimming etc.

Personally, I would piece together the pieces you want. I've done that over the years and prefer to do it that way as I get exactly what I want.

If you've got the room, on the bench and in the wallet, I'd pick up an RCBS Rockchucker kit.
I know Hornady makes a kit, too, but I have no experience with it. I know they used to offer free bullets with purchase so that can save a bunch of money.
It sure doesn't hurt to have 2 presses, or even sell one if you'd rather.
Another option, though more time consuming, is to piece it together but when just starting out how do you know what you want? I've been loading several years and although I have bought and sold a few items, my basic "kit" is still much the same as when I started out.

The third option is to wait for someone selling "Grandpas reloading setup" but thats a crapshoot, too.

Good luck in your search!

The kits are pretty useless these days anyway. Most of the stuff you need don't come in them anyway.

1. You need a good set of calipers
2. headspace comparator
3. Ogive measuring set
4. A good scale. I like an electric trickler.