Beginner Reloading

armageddon144

Hey guys, I'm totally new to reloading ammunition. I'm going to ask my parents for reloading equipment this year for Christmas. What do I need?

I'm shooting a 308 Win and plan on doing long-range shooting along with coyote hunting. I'd like to make a copy of the Federal Gold Medal match 175 gr sierra matchking cartridge (the military's long range sniping load). What kind of brass, powder and primer do I need for that load? Can anyone suggest some other good loads? Any good books on reloading to get? I'm looking at getting this starter kit:

Cabela's -- Lee Breech Lock Challenger Reloading Kit

Is this a good beginner kit? I noticed it doesn't come with a die, any suggestions for a good 30 cal die? Any help is greatly appreciated! Thanks!

RCBS makes a great kit with ether a Rockchucker or rockchucker 2 press
and scales.

I have both and one over 45 years old and still as good as new.

J E CUSTOM

If you're gonna be serious about this, check out the kits from RCBS or Hornady. They may be a bit more expensive, but they will last, especially the RCBS.

If your serious about the dies, check out the RCBS custom competition. Otherwise you can't go wrong with Hornady New Dimension dies, I like them a lot better than the standard RCBS ones.

As for the load, Federal uses their own primers (large rifle benchrest, not sure what number) of course the Sierra 168gr MK and for powder (they won't tell anybody exactly what they're using) try Varget. I've had very good results with this load, but I use the CCI BR2s as the primers.
Remember start low and work up to what your gun likes.

Good luck. gun)

This one is a better buy than RCBS's lesser single-stage kits (compare the components, and MidSouth's price):

Midsouth*RCBS RELOADING PRODUCTS*ROCKCHUCKER SUPREME MASTER RELOADING KIT

RCBS's equipment, and everyone else's, costs more than your chosen brand, but it's a matter of paying for what you get.