Anyone using bore snakes?

Oldschool280

Ive been using brass rods to clean my rifles for 30 years, wanted to replace one and went to the local gunshop today and was told that that was "old technolgy,," and that boresnakes were the wave of the future. What say you experienced gent's ( and ladies if any)

Hmmmmm

So I'm supposed to run what amounts to a DIRTY SOCK that has been thru God knows how many different barrels and distribute the grime off of that dirty sock in my barrel

No thanks. I had a guy at a store who wanted to see my gun. So I brought it in. Shop owner peers in and says "Hey let me clean that for ya real quick as he pulls out a BORESNAKE".
Put that thing or anything else in that Hart barrel and I will shoot you with it.

Also I am not a fan of brass rods either. It isn't JOINTED is it?

No its not jointed, i settled on a stainless rod with a bore guide for now but looking for the right setup

Hmmmmm

So I'm supposed to run what amounts to a DIRTY SOCK that has been thru God knows how many different barrels and distribute the grime off of that dirty sock in my barrel

No thanks. I had a guy at a store who wanted to see my gun. So I brought it in. Shop owner peers in and says "Hey let me clean that for ya real quick as he pulls out a BORESNAKE".
Put that thing or anything else in that Hart barrel and I will shoot you with it.

Also I am not a fan of brass rods either. It isn't JOINTED is it?

+1

Using Dewey coated rods for years.

Good luck

Jerry

I use the Dewey one piece coated rod also. Love it. Also use Gunslick Pro foaming bore cleaner so I have to only run 4 patches to get it clean. You do have to wait a couple of hours for the copper to drip out the barrel but that isn't a problem most of the time.

I have some bore snakes that I carry in my range bag. On a couple rifles, I pull a bore snake thru about every 30 rounds and then clean them with a regular rod and patches about every 100 rounds. Works pretty well for me.