Another 6.5 question

Bait57

I am currently building a 6.5 creed on an AR platform. I have a Wilson Combat 22 inch, 1:8 twist, 6 groove barrel. This is a precision-built rifle for long-range shooting and hunting. I am specifically building this gun with the hopes that I can draw an Antelope tag this fall in WY.

I do not have any specific bullet in mind, so I thought I would ask here first before spending more money. I have read and wrote down alot of the info that I have seen already but most of that was for a bolt gun. Just wondering if there is much of a difference in the load data/ results in a gas vs bolt gun.

Thanks, for the info thus far.

You didn't mention whether you reload or not. I would try the Hornady Precision 143 grain ELD-X. I have yet to find a Creedmore that didn't shoot these well right out of the box.

I would opt for a 130gr in a 6.5CM, personally. But that is my preference. I would take the added speed and flatter trajectory over a bit more bullet weight for hunting. You won't see the benefits of the added weight and BC at hunting yardages enough to notice a difference. Maybe 910 for the 140 vs. 860 for the 130 to retain 1800fps and 1000ft/lbs minimum. (Where we hunt deer at)

I think gas guns need to be tamed down just a bit vs. a bolt gun pressure. But only your rifle can tell you this.

You didn't mention whether you reload or not. I would try the Hornady Precision 143 grain ELD-X. I have yet to find a Creedmore that didn't shoot these well right out of the box.

Sorry about that. Yes I reload.

Thank guys for the replies.To me it is far better to ask a question from those that have experience than starting fresh.

You might want to try an adjustable gas port on the rig before heading out on a hunt.
This way, you can find the load the gun likes, then tame the gas system down so its not overgassed.