ACI Scope Mount

Discussion in 'Long Range Hunting & Shooting' started by AlaskaIsGodsCountry, Feb 14, 2012.

  1. AlaskaIsGodsCountry

    AlaskaIsGodsCountry Member

    Messages:
    21
    Joined:
    May 8, 2010
    Hello,

    I'm new to this so please bare with me.

    I would like to mount an ACI on my hunting rig, but don't want to change my rings and bases. I was thinking of using system that mounts directly on my scope. ACI Scope Tube Mount

    My scope is a Zeiss Diavari FL 4x16 w/ a 30mm tube and my rifle caliber is a 30-378 wby that weighs w/ scope about 9.5 lbs.

    Will this system damage my scope or effect my zero in any way with the recoil? Are there any disadvantages to this system? What are you guys thoughts on this?

    Thanks so much in advance!
     
  2. grit

    grit Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,375
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    No issues. They work well.
     

  3. Outlaw6.0

    Outlaw6.0 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    3,007
    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    No, it shouldn't hurt anything, there are several different variations of tube mounted ACI's & I haven't heard any cons regarding the quality designs.
    Do you have a ACD yet? If not, this might be a great way to go:

    Levels | Flatline Ops
     
  4. royinidaho

    royinidaho Writers Guild

    Messages:
    8,853
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    I happen to have one of these as shown in the pic. It's a nightforce for a picatinny base.

    New in box never mounted. No room for it on the base as the set up require 4 sets of NF rings.

    Retail appears to be $199.00 or so. Lemme know if you have interest.
     

    Attached Files:

  5. SavageShtr

    SavageShtr Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    243
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    I would stay away from the Horus ACI/ACD!!! Liltank and I bought one for our rigs. The one I got would fall out of the mount when I would shoot from the recoil and I had it as tight as it would go and the ACI was not on it was like 3* off. Ours are mounted on the scope tubes also. Liltank originally had the one that mounted on the rail but was not able to get it to be level when he tightened it up, so he sent it back for the scope mount type. I have since gotten a different one. You can kind of see it in the picture below.
     

    Attached Files:

    • 015.jpg
      015.jpg
      File size:
      120.3 KB
      Views:
      1
  6. dig

    dig Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    662
    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    The Horus is a great unit offering 2 in one and showing anlge in actual angle or in % of range. Its true they come lose in the big calibers I use a liberal amount of Locktite and solved the issue. I am using a rail mount as apposed to scope mount.
     
  7. Outlaw6.0

    Outlaw6.0 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    3,007
    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    I was stoked when I received my Horus unit w/rail adapter, mounted it on my 338 RUM.... & it came loose after ~6-10 rounds !! Holy bat Sh&$!!! That isn't supposed to happen.....lol So I put it back on w/ a little more tension on that iddy biddy screw (& I mean small). I think it went 15 or so before it came loose again.

    So I then ordered the tube mount for it thinking it might be helpful.... well, the dang adjustment bottoms out before fully clamping onto the ACI unit, you can actually move it by hand!! Jeeze....(insert face palm) the unit is really nice but I've given up...
     
  8. dig

    dig Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    662
    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    That tiny screw is a pain! I would call them there service has been good I am sure they will replace.
     
  9. SavageShtr

    SavageShtr Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    243
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    What I found with the one that I have, is that the wedge that tightens to hold the unit onto the mount bottoms out on the mount itself. So you think you have it tightened and then go to the range and it falls off when you shoot. I found this rather annoying and decided to get another one that is more reliable. I thought it was a nice product but it doesn't do me any good if it keeps falling off, bottom line is there are better ones out there you just have to pay for them.
     
  10. dig

    dig Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    662
    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Definitely give them a call, my screw came loose (until lock tight ed) but not bottoming out. Again, there service is great, replaced a lost cap for me free of charge!
     
  11. woolecox

    woolecox Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    93
    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    I use this one. (sold on this site). It attaches to the Night Force bases, replaces the top ring. Others sold here attach to a picatiny rail if you have one, or to the scope tube itself. You may have to replace the rings if you don't have room for the other models.

    These things are a must for mountain shooting IMHO.

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  12. SavageShtr

    SavageShtr Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    243
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    That is what I use now instead of the Horus system. I like the fact that you can zero the ACI/ADI with your rifle level just like the bubble level. This setup is a priceless addition to any long range shooters equipment.