7mm rem mag

DDorrell86

Hi so I'm new to this forum. I live in Colorado and plan on entering a draw for an Elk tag this year. I have been shooting for about 11 years now, but hunting big game will be a whole new experience for me (provided I am even drawn).

My question is about the 7mm rem mag. I own a lot of different and unique guns, but the only one I own that I believe would be acceptable for hunting is my 7mm rem mag. Not in particular to elk but I have heard mixed reviews with it. For hunting elk in Colorado, I'm curious of peoples opinions on the 7mm rem mag. I was told by a friend that a 300 win mag would better suit me. Hunting big game for the first time, I don't plan on taking any shots over the 500 yard range. I can hit my target with the 7mm dead center, from 500, every time, but thats never been a live and possibly moving target so I don't feel comfortable shooting at a target while big game hunting at a range over that. The last thing I want to do is wound an animal. My main question is should I invest in a different gun than my 7mm rem mag for hunting Elk at or less than 500 yards, and if I do, is there a particular caliber you would recommend.

Any insight is welcome and appreciated!

Hi so I'm new to this forum. I live in Colorado and plan on entering a draw for an Elk tag this year. I have been shooting for about 11 years now, but hunting big game will be a whole new experience for me (provided I am even drawn).