7mm Rem Mag loads

coachA

I am looking for some good loads for a 7mm Rem mag. I am new to reloading and I am really looking for a fast but stable load for hunting. I would like to here all opinions about bullets and powder.

I am looking for some good loads for a 7mm Rem mag. I am new to reloading and I am really looking for a fast but stable load for hunting. I would like to here all opinions about bullets and powder.

Are you looking for a heavier bullet or something lighter? How far will you be shooting? Rl-22 works great in my 7mm Mag. Its pretty efficient and gives me great velocity and accuracy. I personally like the 162 out of mine but most people on this sight like the 168 Berger. Imr 4350 isnt a bad powder for the lighter bullets and Imr 7828 works well from what i hear

Berger 180 VLD's pushed by Retumbo is giving me excellent accuracy and just over 3,000 fps. out of a custom 7RM.

Weight isn't a huge issue with me as long as it shoots well. I have some 162 ELD-X that I am going to try first. I plan on trying out the berger bullets too.

I've loaded 168 Berger with H1000 in six rifles. They shot very well in all. Had one that was more accurate with H4831SC. The Berger 180's would be great if your barrel has a fast enough twist. Good luck

Worked up loads for three 7 Rem mags using Retumbo and 168 Berger classic hunter bullets. Loads varied slightly 71-73 gr of powder. Velocities from 24" barrels 3079 to 3121 fps. None of these rifles require any seating depth manipulation to obtain tight groups.

One owner commented that the cow elk he shot was the fastest kill he had ever seen on an elk. He has hunted his whole life and is 68 yrs old.

Another owner shot an antelope at close to 600 yards and was happy with the results.

I use IMR 4350
For 162 ELD -M bullets. Very accurate, good enough velocity.
I light it off with a standard Fed 210 primer.

140 gr Nosler Ballistic Tip moly coated 3.34" over all length 70 gr H4350 3400 fps.