6mm Remington

Red hunter

I am not real familiar with this caliber and was wondering if this is a long or short action round. I have come across one for sale and it is in a wood stock. I was thinking about changing it to a synthetic stock if I buy it. So I was going to see what I would have in a new stock. It's a Remington 700 ADL.

6mm Remington is the same case as a 7x57 and .257 Roberts. I have no experience with factory rifles, but I suspect and hope they were built on long actions. Someone out there will know for certain.

Every 6mm Model 700 I've seen and owned, I've owned a few and have seen many, has been a short action.

Every 6mm Model 700 I've seen and owned, I've owned a few and have seen many, has been a short action.

+1 the 6mm is one of my favorites !!! I have a couple old BDL varmint special's and a 40x in 6mm ackly and in my part of the world they are my " go to's". ... And yes they are short actions!

My Ruger M77 Tang is a short action. Nice thing about the 6mm Remington is that it has such a long neck, you don't need a whole lot of extra magazine length to seat heavy bullets and still stay out of the shoulder area with the base of the bullet.