6.5 CM reloading issues....

freediver111

So while I'm not the most experienced reloader, I'm not a complete newbie. This issue has me scratching my head a little though.

I'm using Lapua brass, all once or twice fired, 47.2 gr. RL26, CCI450's, COAL 2.855", 0.02" off the lands, and Hornady ELD-X 143's.

So my buddy and I hit the range yesterday afternoon. A little on the cold side and moderate winds. Check zero, good, start shooting 600-1,000. Noticed some weird shots hitting low, then without adjusting I'd be right on at 1,000. Decided to re-check zero at 100. Shoot two and they're a touch low, but pretty good, then shoot a third and it's way high. Around 1.5-2" high. Shoot again and high, shoot again and back down to my first 2 that were a touch low but not bad. WTH!

I also had 2 FTF, which is a first for me. Get home and check things out. Not the scope or the mounts, those are solid. Pulled the bullets from the FTF rounds and a clump of powder was stuck at the bottom in each. Ok, I do recall rushing case prep and didn't do the best cleaning job, so maybe some case lube media was left.

One thing to note is my neck tension is terrible. I'm using RCBS FL dies and I'm going to switch to Redding Type S for sure. I measured the bullets and they're 0.263", where my case necks are being re-sized to 0.257". That seems like a lot of tension.

Any other tips and tricks I should look at? We were shooting prone, which shouldn't cause any issues. I'm using the RCBS seating die as well, and check my seatings and they're all pretty spot on. Slight variations, but minor.

Also, I know some of you might thinks it's powder weight variations, but it's not. I measure each charge and trickle up to 47.2. Using a RCBS hand scale and check zero after every 50 rounds. I would be shocked if it's a powder charge variation. I'm meticulous in that aspect.