45 acp

Elk868

hello
i m Pretty new on handgun reloading so i wanted to ask you all what you think About following load :
45 acp
barnes tac xp 185 gr
hodgon cfe 8.1 gr
primer : federal Gold medal large pistol
- want to use it in my glock 21
thank you very much

What are you trying to accomplish with this load? I'm guessing defense load. It looks like max load, and highest velocity hodgdon lists for a 185. You'll want to work up to that slowly, as the Barnes usually create more pressure sooner. I run starline nickel brass, 200gr Speer gold dot, and a Max charge of VV N105. It's good for around 1150fps, and a decent amount of recoil in my shield.

Yes it's thinked as load for defence. And you are right , it's max load.
And for sure I start lower. I have no experience with cfe and would like to know this might work or not. I reload since around twenty years but never thinked bout load handgun ammo.but now I think it's time for- so I'm happy about each suggestions . Here handgun hunting is illegal so shooting handgun was always something I just did beside . But now I want take closer look at.

Thank you very much

Why do you want to beat your pistol up? Max loads really don't help at 15 feet.
I carry a nice 230Gr. JHP at 920 FPS. Practice trumps power! Run your plates
practice mag changes...Shoot it!! Here's a Cabot S-103 I have nice pistol.
Cabot 003.JPG

I shoot 9.6g of AA#5 with the 185g Nosler HP, start lower and work up in your pistol, very very accurate in a couple of 45's that I have. Kahr cw 45's accuracy is unbelievable with 9.1g of Five with 185g Noslers

tested 45 acp with Sierra 8805 , 230 grain jhp and 6 gr hodgon cfe in my glock 21
really nice and soft recoil . accuracy was good . Speed was 750 fps col 1.175 spread was 19,6ps
think i can go upward bit with load and see how it effects accuracy, more Posts soon :
best regards
And wish you all a happy new year
elk868

Last edited:
load to a longer COAL..its a 45acp not a 9mm