.308 or .300 For Hunting Pigs & Deer

DFA

Hey everybody, newbie here...I am wanting to get a new rifle. I am set on the Savage 10fp and cannot decide if I want a .300 or .308. I will be using the gun to hog hunt and deer hunt. I'm not worried about recoil, I would like to be able to kill in the 400 - 500 yard range(with lots of practice first). Does the .308 have plenty of knockdown power for hogs? I know the .300 does. Thanks for any advise

The 308win will meet 95% of your needs. However, if you want to reliably take biggame at 400-500yds then the 300win would clearly excel here for a variety of reasons:

Flatter trajectory - more velocity with any given bullet
Easier to dope the wind - heavier, higher BC bullets at greater velocity
Better terminal performance when shot placement is not quite what you anticipated - @ 400-500yds the point of impact is much harder to call then it is at 100-200yds.

Just my 2 cents

personally I would go with the .308with say a 175grn bullet. For that matter a 168 would work just fine. 4-500 yards is a drop in the bucket for the 308.They're killing people in Iraq at 800 plus. Snipers use both calibers. As far as cost efficency when reloading the .308 is better hands down.

DFA,
The Savage is a fine platform to start with. I've owned two 110FP's (7Mag & .223Rem) and both were sub 1/2" rifles and that's being conservative. The only LE model I found on Savages website that comes in .300WM is the 110FCP-K. Are you looking at one of the older 110FP's?
Anyway, I have owned, shot and hunted with both calibers before and prefer the .300WM. I like the extra energy, velocity and range. I can't see stepping back down to the .308 now. JohnnyK.

The 308win will meet 95% of your needs. However, if you want to reliably take biggame at 400-500yds then the 300win would clearly excel here for a variety of reasons:

Flatter trajectory - more velocity with any given bullet
Easier to dope the wind - heavier, higher BC bullets at greater velocity