300wsm or 300 win mag??

ablank45

Hey everybody I am new to this forum and I am looking for some info and advice on a new hunting rifle. I live in Montana and most of my hunting is done in big open country with the possibility to shoot out to 1,000 yards plus. However most of my shots are in the 300-400 yard range. I have a 270 that I use for deer and antelope hunting and I use a 130 grain bullet, but I am in need of a new elk gun. What are the pros/cons between the 300 win mag and 300wsm? As a side note I am a college student so I don't have time to do any reloading so I will be shooting factory ammo. What is a great shooting gun using factory ammo and is under $750? I've been looking at the tikka, vanguard s2, savage trophy hunter xp, and remington 700. Anything helps guys! Thanks!

I own both. They are almost identical in performance. Both are great shooters. If you are only going to be using factory ammo go with the 300 win mag. Ammo is cheaper and way more plentiful. I found that the real benefit of the short mag comes with reloading. My buddy has a 300 wm tikka t3 that shoots lights out. Being such a light gun it can be hard on the sholder but a limbsaver fixes that. Good luck in your choice but either round will perform awesome for you.

I own both. They are almost identical in performance. Both are great shooters. If you are only going to be using factory ammo go with the 300 win mag. Ammo is cheaper and way more plentiful. I found that the real benefit of the short mag comes with reloading. My buddy has a 300 wm tikka t3 that shoots lights out. Being such a light gun it can be hard on the sholder but a limbsaver fixes that. Good luck in your choice but either round will perform awesome for you.
++What he said.

Non-handloader, go 300 win mag.