300 Weatherby?

WyomingLawDog

Hi, I am new to this forum. I little background on myself, I from Wyoming. I am an avid elk hunter. I am a Police Officer and a Navy Vet. I was an expect rifleman in the Navy, but no where near a good long distance shooter as I have not tried long distance shooting. My question is, I was debating on buying a .338 RUM to make into a long distance shooting rifle for hunting only, mainly Antelope and Elk. My deer shoots don't tend to be as long usually. I have a 300 Weatherby with a Bushnell 3x9x40 on it. I have shot a bull elk a few years ago at 400 yards, that is the most I would consider shooting it, that was with holding it over the top of it's shoulders. I have never messed with setting dope/moa or anything like that, no little about that. My expert rifleman was with an M16 and iron sights. I know very little about adjusting for wind which I need to learn as the wind very rarely stops blowing in Wyoming. I want to make a long distance rifle for 1,000 to 1,200 yards. I have seen many elk across valleys that have been at those ranges only to spooke them trying to get closer to them in big herds or get down into deep timber to try to get close to them and have a steep upward shot and not be able to stalk within range I am comfortable shooting with my setup above (400 yards), missed opportunity on good elk cause of this. I know little about my 300 Weatherby, bought it new and shot a couple elk with it only factory ammo. My question is this a good long distance shooter or would I be happier buying the .338 RUM. I am debating on putting good glass on the 300 Weatherby, just don't know enough about it which is my fault. The other thing, I don't even know if my Weatherby has an adjustable trigger cause I hate it, It is a very hard and heavy trigger pull. I like a little light smooth trigger pull, so if it is not adjustable I would take it to a smith and have a trigger job done on it if I use my rifle. Do I hand load rounds as I am using curr