280 AI build recommendations

kynjm82

Finally found where to post on here !
I currently own several factory rifles and don't "need" anything but I'm ready to build my first custom. I have 7/08 savage on a Houge stock which is my go to deer rifle in KY & MO , a ridgeline 300WSM that I use for elk , tikka 6.5 for antelope , deer, and such. Along with numerous others in the safe's.
But I want a 280 AI , here's what I'm thinking :

defiance ruckus action

24" proof carbon sendario

Proof lightweight mtn hunter stock

trigger ??

leupold vx6 hd 3x18x44

this is my first build and I want to do it right , so what do you guys think of my list before I start ordering ??

Sounds like a solid build to me and I look forward to seeing the finished rifle. For triggers, I'd look into a TriggerTech or Timney Elite Hunter.

Thanks , I'll do that . Guess I should of included that I'm think 9 twist on barrel and shooting max 168 gr Berger

think about the 284 throated long with the 175 elites. I will be putting that together soon and i think it will run pretty well.
I have a .284 chambered with the Norma Match reamer. It has 0.208 of freebore and its perfect for the 175 Berger. I shoot RL23 in it and get 2850FPS with a 26" barrel. I use Peterson brass and it's excellent.

Tiger tech diamond or primary if you want a single stage. Two stage I'm liking my bix and Andy tacsport pro quite a bit but only have 500 or so rounds on it

Thanks guys , like I said this is my first custom and just needed so reinforcement on my choices and that I wasn't missing something or doing something silly before I start shelling out cash for my most expensive rifle to date.

Look at the defiance rebel with the hunters port or sheep port if you want real light weight. I just got two of the new ones with the integrated lug. Pretty sweet