25-.06 AI reload data

Bigdog2815

I'm new at reloading for my 25-.06 AI and I would like to do some long range shooting. I'm starting out with a Hornady 117gr. SST bullet. Does anyone have a good load for this combo for 500 - 1,000 yds.?

I'm new at reloading for my 25-.06 AI and I would like to do some long range shooting. I'm starting out with a Hornady 117gr. SST bullet. Does anyone have a good load for this combo for 500 - 1,000 yds.?

G'day,
Often, what works in one rifle, rarely works in another. Therefore, my advice is to study several load data sources and pick the top 3 powders that consistently give the top 5% for highest velocity, these are the powders that perform the best in that cartridge.
I have a standard 25-06, the best performing powder for it is RL 25 with 100gr-120gr bullets.
Being an AI, however, the general rule of thumb is to use max loads for the 25-06 as your start load, in the case of RL 25 for 117gr this is 58gr, you may get to around 62gr, give or take, before you get excessive pressure signs.
Other powders worth trying are, IMR 4831, IMR 7828, H1000, RETUMBO, RL 22 and H 4831sc. Not all of them will work for accuracy, so you'll have to work up as you would for any cartridge.

You can take this advice, or not.
I do NOT fireform my AI brass with bullets, don't see the point of having an improved case and not utilising it's performance. I use a 1/3 case capacity load of CLAYS with a twist of 1 half sheet of toilet paper twisted and poked into the case mouth over the powder, it needs to be firm, but not overly tight. You will need to adjust the charge weight until a fully formed case results. Fire and retrieve formed case.
Sometimes, the cases do not fully blow out down near the web, you can re-do the fireform, or just load with a regular powder charge and bullet and fire it as normal, velocity will be down a little, but not like a regular fireforming load would be.

Hope this helps.

Cheers.
gun)

Hey there,