24 Caliber Options

Diago

I am just getting started with long range hunting for deer and praire dogs. What would you recomend for options in the 24 caliber line. I do handload also. What about factory made Guns in that caliber. I am considering a Ruger or Tika. Any advise would be appreciated.

Jim

.243 Ackley Improved is a real performer very
flat shooting and doesn't eat much powder!There are many choices to do many things,6/284,6/06 Ack Imp. .240 Wby.

I agree with Jerry.

My LR arm is a 257 and I consider it a bit light for deer. I prefer it as a LR antelope gun and varmint rig.

Wyoming deer are good sized but the 24 may well be excellent for the smaller species/races in other regions. I have no experience with the smaller deer.

My cartridge choice would also be the 243 AI or the 6mm Rem AI.

Good luck and welcome to the discipline.

Thanks for the advise, how about the 243 WSSM? Is there a web site I can get the ballistics for the weatherby mag, or the wildcats to compare them? What about a heavy(not varment) barel, are they any more accurate for hunting situations? I prefer the asthetics of a wood stock, but would get a synthetic if they are more accurate.

Thanks,

Jim

Diago, for me LR/deer and 6mm don't go together. You run out of oomph pretty quick.

If shots are kept inside 400yds on deer, then 243Win would be my first choice. 105gr Amax or SST would be my bullets of choice. There are certainly no shortage of factory rifles available.

If you are going wildcat, then 6-06, 243AI, 6mm Rem reg/AI would be excellent choices. Ranges should still be kept moderate, maybe 500yds if I could guarantee good shot placement.

For LR varminting, this combo would go as far as you can shoot. I am just a little conservative when it comes to deer, especially the ones we have up here in Canada. I would want more bullet weight and larger cal.

Jerry