Zeiss Conquest 6.5-20X50 base question.

fishwater

So I have a standard Vanguard .22-250, and I just ordered a new Conquest 6.5-20X50 with the RapidZ Varmint reticle. I was reading through the manual online and it says I need a 20MOA base...
The scope has 45" of elevation adjustment.

I am just starting out in LRH, so I am seeking a little advice before I purchase new mounting hardware, and yes I did a bunch of searching already!

My questions are, will I even be able to hit a 200yd zero with my standard height Talley's I have now. I have read people were not able to hit 100, but would I be able to do 200? If so, I would then have hold points out to 600. I could probably live with that...

I am getting an android phone along with the Shooter app next week, I know that >600 is asking a lot for the .22-250, but I wouldn't mind being able to play around with it a little at longer ranges. I will most likely just bite the bullet here and drop the $150+ on a new base and rings...

What height rings am I looking for (bell is 56mm,) will I be able to get away with med's? I don't really want to buy a $80-$100 set of rings online and wait for them, only to find they don't fit, and then deal with returning them!

I have found the EGW and Warne 20moa bases so far, and heard talk of a NF one as well. Any reccomendations on this?

A little background info: I did a trigger job on the gun myself, and it has a clean 1.5Lb pull with zero creep. I also reload, and I am shooting 55gr Nosler varmints behind 34.5gr of IMR4895, that should be around 3600fps. (I have a chronograph, but I have not had the chance to send any of these rounds over it yet.)

Thanks, Brandon.

Last edited:
That round has about 13 moa of drop at 600 yds. It's probably supersonic past 700 yds, even at sea level.

You probably can use standard bases. I recommend you get Burris Signature rings (tall). If your base/ receiver is off boresight, you can fix it by getting extra offset inserts.