WWII Vintage .30-06

Discussion in 'Reloading' started by Mike6158, Jan 8, 2013.

  1. Mike6158

    Mike6158 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    297
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2003
    My son is supposed to be getting his hands on a WWII vintage .30-06 bolt action rifle (not a Garand). I have a good load for the Garand. Is there any reason not to use it in the bolt gun?

    The load is nothing fancy.

    150 gr bullet.
    45 gr. of H4895
     
  2. roninflag

    roninflag Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    3,226
    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    sounds good to me. i shoot mostly 165s and 168s out of mine. i use I4895, h-4895 and varget. one year i loaded and shot nearly 2500 rounds.
     

  3. Greyfox

    Greyfox Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    3,711
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    If it's an A3-03 Springfield, which was the WW2 issue in the early part of the war, using the same ammo will be fine given the rifle is in good order. I use the same hand loads in mine that I use in my modern rifles with no issues and fine accuracy. If it were a Garand, this would not be the case as cartridge pressure and therefore load recipe plays a role in proper function.
     
  4. Mike6158

    Mike6158 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    297
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2003
    Everything that I've read says IMR and H4895 are not the same (burn chart shows them close though) but this load works in the Garand and it's not a max load by any means so I feel pretty good about it as a starting point
     
  5. Mike6158

    Mike6158 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    297
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2003

    That's what it is. I kind of figured the bolt rifle would be ok with the Garand load. At least from a starting point.

    Thanks for the replies y'all
     
  6. Sully2

    Sully2 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,480
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2011
    Pickup a No-Go gauge and check headspace to see it isnt totally out of whack...
     
  7. kennygss

    kennygss Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    200
    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2012
    no reason at all not to use that load
     
  8. RT2506

    RT2506 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,503
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    No reason that you should not use that load in a 1903A3. Matter of fact you can use stouter loads in it than you can in the Garand.