Wind Adjustment Methods / FFP / SFP

treillw

I'm new to long range shooting and am eagerly waiting for my first long range rifle to be built. The rifle is a .300 win mag weighing in at 7.25 pounds. I've had a pretty hard time figuring out what kind of scope to get to go along with it and still haven't made a decision. To my surprise, it's harder to find a scope that I like than a rifle, for various reasons.

The rifle's main purpose will be long range hunting. Most of it's life will be spent pursing elk and taking muleys that I may come across while searching for elk. I'm trying to setup my equipment to be capable of taking elk out to 1000 yards, my maximum effective range will be determined after I get my rifle by how many bullets I'm able to put through it. I picked that number for everything at this point because I don't want to be limited by my equipment - which I know is very unlikely to happen. :D

After doing a bunch of scope research, I like the idea of getting a first focal plane scope. I have looked at a few and haven't come across anything that I'm in love with at this point. However, I do have some more opportunities to check out some different scopes and reticles over the coming months. If I can't find a FFP scope that I love, I'm considering going SFP. This is where your feedback comes in.

The main reason I want a FFP scope is for making wind corrections. For the elevation corrections, I anticipate being able to dial them into the scope and not need to change that dialed elevation often. There is always the possibility of the animal running a large distance to a different location, which I would then need to re-range and re-dial. But the wind is constantly varying.