Which PDA do you use?

rolltide

Hey guys, I read a lot here, and I'm getting into the longer range shooting more and more. Often, I read accounts where you are using a PDA to assist in the scope adjustments. I like the idea of using a PDA to assist in the field, but I'm not sure which way to go. I've heard people talk about going the cheap route, Palm Zire for $70 bucks, to the top end versions from Palm, HP, Dell etc.

I would really appreciate your help here as the only experience I have is with an older Palm that no longer works correctly.

As for the uses, I have the land available to shoot out to 900, but aside from a couple of 1000yd matches at Oak Ridge, I have little experience past 300.

Thanks again for your help,

Chris

Hello, I have a Palm Tungsten T2. Currently I just use a Free excel spreadsheet program on the Palm but would like to get an actual program for it. That palm cost me $140 a year ago. The excel program runs a little slow takes about 5 seconds to change the zero and about 30seconds if you change all the variables. A palm with any slower processor would probably be a little anoying with my program.

I use a Dell X51 with Exbal. Too bad I can't see the screen outside in the sun. /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/frown.gif

I have the Dell Axim X30, have the same problem with this cheaper model as Ankeny does with his higher end model. Got the Nightforce program, it is based on XBAL and relatively easy to get into. More I use it the more I trust it.
If you are in a blind waiting for a deer you can while away time with a few thousand games of Solitair - **** thing is sure hard to win.

I now use a Palm Z22 (the entry level Palm) and the PSSF program for my long range shooting.

The only negative for the Palm Z22 is that the screen needs to be shaded in full sunlight. Otherwise, it's a gem.

PSSF - Sharpshooter Friend, is a free Russian program that runs well on the Z22 and on the more expensive models.