What is the best caliber for long range hunting?

K

kpehrson

I am fairly new to long range hunting (1000+ yards) for big game. I am now looking at getting a custom long range rifle built but wanted some feed back and ballistic information on what caliber would be the best. I really am hoping to understand what caliber and why.

Some have suggested the 338 lapua while some say you need a chariot to hunt with it.

Others suggest the 6.5x284...

While no data has been given to back up the suggestions I have received..

Thanks for all of the help!

Welcome to LRH.
I am fairly new to long range hunting (1000+ yards)
If long range hunting is 1000+ yards I'm somewhat at a loss on how to reply.

I really am hoping to understand what caliber and why.
There are a few books to include Applied Ballistics for Long Range Shooting detailing the aspects of precision and accuracy required for what I think you are asking.

Wind uncertainty and the ability to reduce the effects will most likely be the "Achilles Heal" when making 1000+ yard hunting shots. Selecting a bullet with a high BC combined with a high velocity will help reduce the human errors associated with wind uncertainty miscalculation.

The book suggested should answer what I think you are asking. Im not certain there is a single cartridge to meet all needs although some are better suited than others.

Welcome to LRH.

If long range hunting is 1000+ yards I'm somewhat at a loss on how to reply.

There are a few books to include Applied Ballistics for Long Range Shooting detailing the aspects of precision and accuracy required for what I think you are asking.

Wind uncertainty and the ability to reduce the effects will most likely be the "Achilles Heal" when making 1000+ yard hunting shots. Selecting a bullet with a high BC combined with a high velocity will help reduce the human errors associated with wind uncertainty miscalculation.