weight sorting brass, Now what?

elkhntr

I have taken 60 pieces of unfired new winchester brass and weight sorted it out. i now have 9 individual piles of brass ranging from 3 to a pile to 12 pieces in a group. each pile represents brass that weighs within .5 grains of each other. Ok now what are you suppose to do? I am not benchrest shooting i am using them for hunting. Is this step really nessary for long range hunting? What am I missing. What is this suppose to do for me in terms of accuracy. when hunting you dont have time to sort thru shells in a cartridge belt.

If you're not BR shooting, or shooting for money, or for the hunt of a lifetime, I'd throw them all back into a bucket, mix them around, then load them and shoot them. :D

I am not an expert, so this is just my personal opinion, but I have some rifles that can shoot sub-1/4 MOA fairly consistently, most 1/2 MOA or better every time, and I've never personally weight-sorted any brass, and that includes Lapua, Nosler, Norma, Weatherby, Federal, Remington, Winchester, Hornady, Lake City, etc....

The only brass I own that has been weight-sorted is the Nosler brass I buy. Only because Nosler does that at the factory for you, so you don't have to worry about doing it yourself.

The goal in handloads for LR shooting/hunting is to make each round as identical to the others as possible. Sorting brass is just one of the small steps in that process. All of those small steps, in the end, allow the rounds to be as identical as possible. Why identical? So they will shoot the same and in particular have as identical bullet speeds as possible when leaving the barrel. The goal of sorting then is to lower the ES/SD of the loads. There further the shot the faster the bullet drops so consistent speed is important at LR. You may want to go +/- 1.5 or 2 gr., if you have too. Just depends on how the brass sorts and how much you need for your good brass group.