weaver tactical

jdg33

I'm just getting started in the long range thing. I have been reloading for 19 years and have at least 15 high power rifles, mostly 700's, but have never owned a tactical style scope. I have 6 weaver grand slams and I have been very happy with them considering the cost. Anyways, I want to start practicing beyond 500 yards and would like to try a mildot style scope with a first plane reticle. Since I'm already a weaver believer I thought I would try a 4.5-14 tactical. I found some new ones on a clearence for $349, is this a good price? It will go on either my 6mm 700 VLS, my 7mm ultra 700 LSS, my 300 WSM A-bolt, or a 300 win Sendero, haven't decided yet.

Thanks,
Burleyboy

If it goes on the 6mm it will be paper/varmints. If it goes on one of the bigger rifles it will be varmints/deer/antelope/elk. I have a load in the 7 ultra that is 91.5 grains of RL25, Fed 215, 160 N accubond, it's 3325fps MV and the few groups I've shot so far have been less that 1" at 100 yards. I'm thinking this might be a good long range big game load. The gun currently wears a weaver grand slam 4.5-14 but I'm thinking a mil dot would be nice for making long range shots without dialing.

My 300 WSM wears the same model scope and shoots 180 SST's at 2920fps with 1/2" 100 yard groups. Might also be a good long range big game option.

Thanks,
Bb

[ QUOTE ]
I'm thinking a mil dot would be nice for making long range shots without dialing.

[/ QUOTE ]

Come monday morning you are going to get a number of answers to your question. I would suggest that you don't buy a mil dot scope to have it play the role of a long range bullet drop compensator. When you are shooting between around 500 and 600 yards your hold changes .1 mil per 10 yards. It gets finer (and harder to use) the farther out you go.(all of this depends on cartridge and conditions and so on. This is approximate.)