Watch your Winchester brass

Savage12

Hello everybody. I'm a newbie here...been lurking for several months, but anyway I had an FYI to warn you about. Just last night I was working on a new batch of 100 Winchester .308 Win brass and found eleven cases that were 20 grains heavier than the rest!!! That's right, twenty grains heavier. All external deminsions were good/normal, but these cases were very thick and had less internal capacity. The other 89 cases only varied about three grains. I don't have the lot number, but can tell you that this brass was purchased from Midway last month so it should be fairly recent production.

welcome to the NEW winchester ! I usually have a 7-8% reject rate on new win. brass, so only use it for 2 rifles. Call the so called customer "service" line and they will send you a cert. for $5.00 off, big whoopie!

I was talking to a gun smith about something else and brass came up. He had just got brass for his 7 wsm from win and said it was the worst lot he has ever seen, I think he said he threw away like 20% off them, so yes watch this batch of win brass.

Just bought some 300 win part of the nice was missing and on the resizing all the necks were a mess.
Maybe time to look at something else.....Nosler or RP Brass......

If your running a 308 Winny, go the extra dollar and buy some Lapua or Norma brass. I have Norma and RWS. Wouldn't trade any of it for anything else. Watch for RWS loaded ammo sales. I just purchased 100rnds for $20 a box. Their bullets aren't worth squat, but their brass is a premium brass.

Tank

From the Wincheter Ammunition website http://www.winchester.com/Products/components/cases/Pages/default.aspx

"Shellcases for handguns and rifles are engineered to precise tolerances to ensure smooth-feeding and positive chambering. Winchester carries unprimed rifle shellcases and both primed and unprimed handgun shellcases."

Most brass manufacturers mention case weight or capacity consistency.