Turret calibration

Discussion in 'Long Range Scopes and Other Optics' started by rivetgun55, Apr 14, 2010.

  1. rivetgun55

    rivetgun55 Member

    Messages:
    14
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    I must be missing something. I have a Sightron SII With 4 marks between 0,1,2 etc.on the turret knob. Next is my Bushnell 4200 Elite and it has 8 marks between numbers. I just got a new Savage varment Max1 so I willed my Rem 788 in 22-250 to my wife and picked up a Simmons 44 Mag with 10 marks in between and is numbered 10,20,30 etc. Haven't even shot it yet with this scope. So if I am going to count clicks for elevation for longer ranges It seems that on the cheaper scope that it will be much easier to keep up with where I am on the simmons. Counting clicks on the other 2 scopes seems a pain in the butt. What am I missing here?
     
  2. Magnumdude

    Magnumdude Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    246
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2002
    1/4 MOA per mark. Hopefully, you have some sort of duplex reticle, or an MOA-based reticle, but it's not a given; you may have a mil-dot reticle. Everyone thinks they need or want one.


    1/8 MOA per mark. Hopefully, you have some sort of duplex reticle, or an MOA-based reticle, but it's not a given; you may have a mil-dot reticle. Everyone thinks they need or want one.




    0.1 milradian per mark. Hopefully, you have a mil-based reticle but it's not a given.
     

  3. rivetgun55

    rivetgun55 Member

    Messages:
    14
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    All 3 are 1/8 moa. all are mil dot, all variable power , by the time I need to start upping the clicks I usually have the power all the way up.
     
  4. Magnumdude

    Magnumdude Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    246
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2002
    From your description of the scope turret markings, only one of those scopes is 1/8 MOA per click on the turret.
     
  5. Hired Gun

    Hired Gun Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,537
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2003
    Why count clicks? Ever try doing your corections in MOA? On the first 2 scopes you just go by the numbers. Instead of counting 84 clicks to get 21MOA just watch the numbers and go up 21MOA. For the new scope just change your balistic program to read out the correction in Mil Rad or whatever it is and use the numbers. This is all assuming you have resetable knobs.
     
  6. rivetgun55

    rivetgun55 Member

    Messages:
    14
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    That does seem to make more sense doesn't it. Thanks!