Toughest mountaineering style boot

• Thread starter Deleted member 25294
  • Start date
D

Deleted member 25294

I'm looking to replace my worn out la
sportiva glaciers.
I'm tough on boots and have trashed many in one year.
Currently looking at schnees granite pro, and scarpa fuegos.
Anyone have some feedback on those boots or something comparable?
Not looking for gtx or insulation.
Thanks

I'm no boot expert but I can offer what I do know from experience. Soloman Quest did not require any break in, were comfortable right out of the box, and a good choice for general hiking. They were not the most durable and did not have a stiff enough shank for an extreme mountaineering boot. Lowa mountain experts have been very durable stiff boots that are heavier but are holding up well. It took a lot of miles to break them in but they should last for a lot more miles as well. I have learned that I need a full shank mountaineering boot for the heavy and steep or my feet don't hold up. In flatter country carrying less weight I would rather have the lighter less rigid boot. Choice between brands would largely be made on how well they fit. For durability I would look for something with a high rubber rand.

Last edited:
Never tried those, have always had good luck with Asolo boots, so stuck with them for long hikes and climbs..
Yeah they're good boots but I trashed two pairs of the high end models in less than a year!