Tell Me About the 300 WBY

I've only hunted deer on the east coast so I'm a newbie when it comes to magnums.

I've got a mid-90s Japanese Mark 5 in 300 WBY and I'm thinking about using it for an elk hunt in Montana next year. The guy I'll be using as a guide told me that the terrain is a little rough since I'm a nonresident and my general tag doesn't get the best draw I guess? So I'm worried about the weight being a little much at 8.5lbs and wondering if I should get a different gun in a different caliber, keep this one, or get a lighter Weatherby in 300 WBY.