Sierra Gamekings vs Nosler Ballistic Tips for whitetails / hogs

TackDriv3r

I have three brand hunting bullets on my shelf for whitetails and hogs that I want to try for the .308 Winchester, Sierra 150 GK, Sierra 165 GK and the 168 Nosler Ballistic Tips. I am going to use Varget loaded close to max. Which bullet would you pick for whitetail / hog hunting? Range is less than 300 yards. It's my first time using the .308 for hunting.

I have three brand hunting bullets on my shelf for whitetails and hogs that I want to try for the .308 Winchester, Sierra 150 GK, Sierra 165 GK and the 168 Nosler Ballistic Tips. I am going to use Varget loaded close to max. Which bullet would you pick for whitetail / hog hunting? Range is less than 300 yards. It's my first time using the .308 for hunting.

I say 168 gr berger hybrid hunting and 44 gr. Varget

Which ever one your rifle shoots best will get the job done if you put it where it is supposed to go.

Or 168 VLD and 44gr of Varget. Both would be an excellent option.

I found the vid to be harder to find seating depth mag.length.

Used the berger jump method and my load is 0.127 off.the lands. More.accurate than the hybrids but more work to find seating depth. Hybrid not so sensitive to seating depth.

Of the three you list, I would go with the 168 NBT. If you decide you want a tougher bullet, switch to the 165 AB. I shoot a 7mm-08, and my go to bullets have been the 140 NBT or AB, depending on what I want to shoot. Both bullets have the same BC and point of impact, so I use the cheaper NBT for practice and the AB for hunting. Last year the AB dropped a small muley in its tracks at 60 paces with minimal meat damage and the heart and lungs looked like jello.