Should I do anything with new Lapua brass?

Discussion in 'Reloading' started by TheDeicide, Dec 23, 2011.

1. TheDeicide

TheDeicide Active Member

I have just bought 100 pieces of Lapua 30-06 brass. Is there anything I should do before loading up some ammo. I am pretty new to reloading for optimum performance. I can't find any good books, so I joined here hoping for info. I'm not sure if I need to use it on these or not, but I purchased a Gen II FlashHole Tool w/Handle made by Sinclair.

2. Derek M.

Derek M. Well-Known Member

I didn't do anything to my Lapua 30.06 or 308 or 6.5x284 brass. The only thing I would do is neck turn if needed.

3. TheDeicide

TheDeicide Active Member

Thanks for the info Derek. I am still acquiring equipment and I'm not decided on a tool for the neck turning yet.

4. AJ Peacock

AJ Peacock Well-Known Member

Neck turning won't do much/anything for you if you have a typical non-custom loose neck on your chamber.

It might shorten your brass life though IMHO. :rolleyes:

If you have a custom/tight neck, then you probably already know if you need to neck turn or not.

AJ

5. Loner

Loner Well-Known Member

de-burr the flash hole, check the necks for being round visually and load it.

6. RDM416

RDM416 Well-Known Member

Glen Zediker has a great book on handloading "Handloading for Competition" It is available at Champions Choice, Champion's Choice - Home Page and other places if you google it. My experience with Lapua brass is that it is good to go right out of the box.

7. Mikecr

Mikecr Well-Known Member

I agree with RDM416 on the book. It is excellent.
    But IMO, all new brass needs chamfering & deburring of the mouths.

8. AJ Peacock

AJ Peacock Well-Known Member

+1 on the book.

AJ

9. dirtball

dirtball Well-Known Member

I have not found ANY new brass, including Lapau to be ready to load out of the box, bag etc.