Sendero weight consideration for hunting

Discussion in 'The Basics, Starting Out' started by jrmac, Mar 23, 2005.

1. jrmac

jrmac Member

I am a novice looking at getting into a hunting rifle that has long range capabilities. In the past, I have hunted with a Model 94 30.30 and a Rem. Mohawk 600 .308. Both were pretty short range guns.

I am currently considering a Remington Sendero 7mm UltraMag. Priced NIB at $709. Any feedback on this model?

I'm especially interested in whether or not this gun should be considered for hunting, or if it is more of a bench gun due to its weight.

Thanks!

2. Kenster-Boy

Kenster-Boy Well-Known Member

Well it depends on how tough you think you are, how much walking you plan to do, and if it is really nessesary for your intended range.

I carried a savage 112 BVSS which is about the same style of the remington sendero except savages version of it. It is about 12 pounds to start with then I put a leupold 6.5-20X40mm scope on it then a harris bipod. so the whole package is around 13-14 pounds. I carried it in the local Wilderness area this last year and throughout the season I walked maybe 50+ miles and was still good for some more. The only deer that I wound up shooting was only 25 yards away but that is beside the point.

I am 18 and some would say that I have more ambission than sense but I ignore that anyway. Yes it will be a challenge but it is definetely do able.

3. Dr. John

Dr. John Well-Known Member