Seating Problem Help

Blacktail

I have an STW i have been tinkering with and have been seating it out to an OAL of 3.640" I know the OAL in the Nosler manual says a Max of 3.60 am i too far out? But more troubling is when seating the bullets i am getting different measurements. Anywhere from 3.640 to 3.543. How can this happen when the lock nut and everything is tight?

I am no expert by any means and I have only been relaoding for a month with the help of the guys on the forum. That being said, I have logged every thing I've done, taken careful measurements and noticed that my bullets are not always the same length. I'm talking same bullets out of the same box. I also started with a cheap set of calipers that I did not think were repeatable in their measurements and bought a new pair.

I'm sure somebody with more experience will have something more intelligent to add. A.J. Peacock on the forum has helped me quite a bit with his posts.

Blacktail

It is likely your bullets. Your seating die seats the bullet off the ogive (SP) of the bullet. The base to ogive length is what you are concerned with. The overall length of your cartridge may vary some, .1 in your case is extreme. You might research to find out if your seating die seats the bullet off the ogive or bullet point. Get a bullet comparitor (sp) from Sinclair. This is far more accurate than measuring from base to bullet tip.

That definitely makes some sense. I just loaded up a set and tried to set the OAL at 3.645 and ended up with 5 of the 12 on the money and the others at 3.641 to 3.642. I will have to make a purchase. thanks

There are three possible answers that I can think of. One is that bullets tips are not all the same. That is, bullets tips are not always exactly the same and can vary by a few thou if you are measureing off of the tip with a standard caliper. You need to use a stoney point or similar bullet comparator inorder to measure bullets correctly off the ogive.