Savage Long Range Hunter 7mm Rem Mag 2016 Elk/Deer

jdmecomber

Official LRH Sponsor
We have developed factory guns to shoot very well using the latest and greatest reloading techniques. This year I harvested an elk in Wyoming at 904 yards and 527 yards for a Washington whitetail. We wrote the details on how we develop the guns in a previous post called Load Development for the Ruger Precision Rifle in .243 Win.

My rifle. Savage Long Range Hunger 7mm Rem Mag. 168 Berger Classic, Imr 4350, 215m primers, Winchester Brass, atlas bipod, Vortex Golden Eagle Scope

I went by myself rifle elk hunting in the northwest of Wyoming. I have been learning the art of long range shooting for about 2 years now.

My first night I found some Bulls but ran out of light and also had two white wolves harassing the herd.

I had a snow storm move in the next night, and I didn't find any elk.

The next morning I woke up to clear skies, fresh snow, and below freezing temperatures. About an hour after sunrise , I found four Bulls and shot this bull twice at 904 yards. He has a few broken tines.

I spent the next day packing out the bull which was about a 20+ mile adventure. I had a Grizzly Sow and her cubs using my same trail everyday, but luckily I never ran into her.

The whitetail I originally had at 800 but couldn't find a decent spot to shoot from. I eventually ran down and got within 527 yards and was lucky to spot him right at last remaining light. I know Len recently posted some articles on different shooting positions. I will have to practice up. Prone was not an option on the deer

Attachments

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    322.3 KB · Views: 137
  • image.jpeg
    image.jpeg
    108.6 KB · Views: 131
Congrats, looks like you are having a great season!

Looks like the long range game is really paying off for ya. Gotta ask, what do you think your chances on those animals would have been if having to shoot "normal" ranges (say <300 yards)?