Savage action

Ronred

what kind of accuracy is anyone getting using an old 110 savage action and ready to screw on barrels. I'm interested in doning one in a .280 ackley im.

I just had a rifle built around my savage 111 action in 7mm REM. Used a 26" Criterion pre-fit barrel and Bell & Carlson stock with timney trigger. Still in break-in but my first few groups are already at 1 MOA or a little under with factory Hornady ammunition. I'm new to precision shooting but am pleased with this set-up so far.

I just finished load development for a .280AI built on a Savage 110 action/Criterion barrel/Bell & Carlson stock. Used Berger 168gr vld's, H4831, Nosler brass and Federal 210M primers. The load I settled on runs @2840 fps and shot into a quarter minute at 200 yards.

I have a 28" Lothar Walthor in 6.5X284, 26" Shilen in 6mmBR and a 28" PacNor in .300WinMag. All varmint profile a d all DIY's.
The 6.5X284 LW shoots great, best group was 12.5-13" @ 1500yds. I've had it a year or two and well pleased with it's accuracy and ease of cleaning. Has not copper fouled yet.
The 6mmBR (1-8t), I put it on around the 20th of March this year and shot my first competition (informal) ever and came in 3rd out of 75 shooters. I'm sure others have done better but it is what it is. This barrel has not shot anything over .4". The majority of the time the groups are in the .1's and .2's, with either 108gn ELD-M's or 95gn Berger VLD's. This was a clearance pre-fit from NSS. $300 to my door!
I'm still working with the PacNor .300 WinMag. I've only shot it 10 times. The first four to get on paper and zeroed. The last six (today) were two 3-shot groups with Norma brass RL-26 and 215 Hybrids. Both groups were .5". Trying to find max load with this combo but I'm missing my muzzle brake!