Savage 110 DL Series H 300 Win Mag

Mustangp51d

Team:

I have an opportunity to purchase a Savage 110 DL Series H 300 Win Mag. It is a gun safe rifle with perhaps 100 round through it. Would this make a good fist build rifle for LR shooting. I am very new to LR shooting so humor me, I will try to only ask questions that I can not find on the site.

Second, what is the H Series in 110 rifle?

Thanks for the input,

P51

I would build on it. New trigger, barrel, and a stock would be a good way to go. Though the old triggers seem to have some good adjustment on them. You might be able to adjust it, to a crisp 2-3#'s.

Hello:

Got side tracked with a business trip. I was at the range last week end and shot the 300 Savage Win Mag. Zero out at 200yrds with stock barrel, trigger and stock. I had run a dollar bill under the stock and barrel and it had a good clearance to the receiver. I had a Millet 4X16 50mm scope I had picked up as a demo at the Gun Show. For now I was thinking about a Basic Sr2 trigger and then determine what the max range would be for the stock platform. Then I can work from that point. I had on quick question, can a stock 1:10 factory barrel have a muzzle break put on it? Its a stock taper but looks to have about 5/8 OD material to work with. Thanks for the help.

Last edited:
Muzzle brake will depend on who you talk to. If you have .625" OD you could do 1/2 thread and have a decent shoulder left to snug the brake up against. Some will probably say nothing less than 9/16 thread on a 300WM. Measure the barrel back from the muzzle about 5/8 and see what you get. I think most look for a shoulder around .05 at least. Assuming you have .625 OD subtract the thread size ie 1/2 for a left over of .125". Take half that and you get .0625" left for shoulder. 9/16" thread would leave you with .03125". Somebody wanna check my math and theory here? Maybe someone that actually does this will give you a better clue.