Sako TRG questions

LRHWAL

I'm a new member and have, in a few days of digging around the forums (not lurking, but searching!) , already found quite a bit of useful information.

I'm not really experienced in long range – particularly in the terms that seem to qualify as long range here, but I'm confident that I'm in the right place to develop one of my (many) shooting interests and I hope you can help me in the right direction here.

Unfortunately it looks like the changes to the forum have made some of the old links that the search function dishes up inactive and I get transferred to the "Main Index" page. So if you'll all excuse me, I'm going to get into something here that I can see has been dealt with before, but which I can't fully access through (diligent) use of the search function.

So with my apologies for taking you down a well trodden path, here goes….

I'm in South Africa and it kind of limits me regarding choices of who to do my work, although I'm busy getting references from some of the BR guys for the work that I intend to have done next.

I have a .300 Win Mag rifle which is a rebarrelled Sako M995/TRG-S. The stock is well, stock standard /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/grin.gif and the barrel is a 26" Shilen (I was told #5 Magnum contour, but I don't think that contour exists and I'll do some measuring and comparing to Shilen's specs to determine what it really is) 1 in 10 twist.

I'm not certain what the rifle started out as, but the 'smith said that the bolt face needed to be slightly altered for the magnum case head. The magazine is adequate in length for heavy .300 WM loaded pretty long.

Anyhow, I've been really disappointed with the limited testing done so far and I figured that I would restock it. I'd like to do / have it done right (it'll be a combination of my work and the 'smith's work).

I agree that the recoil lug (what Sako calls a "recoil block") is a POJ.

Here are the questions: