Sako in 260 rem

d500lnn

I want to start out by saying im a novice reloaded. Everything I've done as been SAAMI specs or very close to it. I have a Sako Finnlight in 260. In order to get the bullet even close to the lands I would have to seat my bullet out to a 2.90" coal and I'm not sure how that would affect pressures and where to start the load.

Any advice on pro or cons is greatly appreciated.

Also, any powders that have worked nice for you and starting loads?

Pictures are my son's first Branch antlered buck shot with said rifle....

Attachments

• 65F55528-CD87-41C9-9304-A5944D73E3B8.jpeg
    65F55528-CD87-41C9-9304-A5944D73E3B8.jpeg
    2.3 MB · Views: 166
  • C39BAF40-5895-4A95-936E-E4E8BCF818E4.jpeg
    C39BAF40-5895-4A95-936E-E4E8BCF818E4.jpeg
    299 KB · Views: 158
  • 9C77A593-374B-4FC1-B4D7-2011AFCD4350.jpeg
    9C77A593-374B-4FC1-B4D7-2011AFCD4350.jpeg
    1 MB · Views: 163
Last edited:
I have a .260 Rem, ( but not a Sako ), and I use H4350 powder with a 140 gr bullet.

You'll want to experiment with seating depth on the bullet you want to use.

Don't assume if you get closer to the lands that it will shoot tighter groups. My Rem VTR 260 shoots 142 ABLRs better at 2.800 than closer to lands. Some bullets like more jump. But do try it, my gun is limited by the length of the magazine so I could only go .05 off lands. As far as loads here are a few:
IMR 4451 42.0 grains 129gr ABLR
RL23 45.4gr 129gr ABLR
H4831sc 47.7gr 142gr ABLR
loads are with WLR primers and Lapua brass

It is the upper limit of oal, not the actual distance to the lands. This "may" end up being .020" setback (approximately), which would be the starting point. I have experienced this with several different magazines/rifles....of course after I spent the time putzing around determining what the oal is for that new to me firearm.

I know the CAOL in all my reloading manuals is SAAMI, not the max you can go. Each firarm is different, depending on how long the throat is cut.