Ruger 7mm Rem Mag 1000 yd capable?

yote yodeller

Hi, I'm shooting my .223 with factory loads out to 600 yds with easy 2" groups, With hand loads at 400 yds a 1" grouping. I'm quite happy with that. I know that guys are going out to 1000 yds with .223's as well but am just not convinced that it will put down a yote properly at a 1000 yds lol, paper is a different story.

I haven't used my 7mm for a while and am wanting to try my hand at longer ranges using it. It's very cold up north here (-40) and I have all winter to load and tweak my rifle so I'm starting to load for it using 168 gr Berger VLD's with a BC of .617 using IMR 4831 for powder. Any thoughts or ideas as to what to expect? Suggestions?

I've been reloading for a few yrs now and love what I can do with it! I am however new to LONG ranges (1000yds etc) and am looking for any advice from all you experienced pro's out there lol! Is my factory rifle and barrel with a 1:9.5 twist good enough for good groupings at 1000 yds? What's considered a good grouping at 1000 yds? Whats a good all round scope for this application? Currently have a 6-18x50 bushnell that seems to work good and a brunton wind meter. Should I get my stock bedded properly? I'm leaning towards a Vortex or Nightforce scope with a decent reticle and good turrets for dialing in wind and range but they are not cheap!!! Any suggestions for scopes similar to them that are a good quality scope but a little bit cheaper? What are the do's and dont's for long ranges? Lotsa questions I know lol, any advice is greatly appreciated guys!

I've killed coyotes out to 800yds with a .204 Ruger so your .223 could work if it's shooting as well as you say above. Wind can really tear up the small bullets performance at long range however.

The 7mm Mag will certainly get the job done that far out with ease. For me the 139 and 154gr interbonds shot exceedingly well for me in both the 7mag and 7STW.