Rifle rebarrel with factory take off

Halleywood

I'm not sure if this is the right place for this, but I want to rebarrel a Remm 700 action and was wondering if it's worth it to use a takeoff barrel in the caliber I want and have a gunsmith true the action/barrel combo.

I'm looking for an accurate rifle for LR hunting (750 yds).

This will be my first "custom" build so I'm new to this. Thanks for any help!

It depends on how you define 'worth it' and...

The individual barrel: condition, rounds fired, throat, "break in', cold bore vs. warm bore difference.

• Take off barrels are $50 to $100 or so and of course available immediately.
  • Rack barrels, prefit (in-stock, ready to ship) $200ish to around $400ish of course available immediately
  • Custom, the sky is the limit.
Then there is the gunsmith fees. More for 'blanks'. My smith to install a take off or prefit charges very little. Sometimes he will do it 'while I wait'. YMMV.

Truing is an issue because if your smith chases the barrel threads, take off and prefit barrels could pose a problem. I'd specify not to chase the threads only true the face and bolt race.

I have not so far tried it. I was gonna get a 300RUM barrel as a 'spare' but it went before I saw the ad.

So...

With my smith, no truing, used take off barrel at $50 it would probably cost a total of $100 as long as I brought only the barreled action.

My Pac-Nor barrels cost more than the original rifle but shoot very well.

How do you define 'worth it'

jfseaman,
Thanks for the reply. The barrel I'm looking at is being advertised as a new barrel takeoff. It hasn't been shot at all.